Slow going

Things have been a bit slow going for me coming out of the Mothers Day weekend.  I have no word count to speak of for nearly five days now.  *frown*  So not okay.

Tucking this link here of a blog post I haven’t read yet, but want to remember to get back to.

Last week I felt like Wednesday was Monday … this week it is only Tuesday and I feel like it ought to be Thursday or even Friday … but it is only Tuesday!  I feel like back when I was a kid in school and I would play with time-travel and the clock on the classroom wall.  I got really good at stretching five minutes out to a whole hour, as I think most kids do.

Interestingly I also got pretty good at doing the opposite, making an hour feel like five minutes – and doing it deliberately.  I felt quite powerful in my time manipulation abilities, when I was 7.  I suppose that I still have that secret super power ability somewhere inside me, but I am mighty rusty and it no longer answers on demand.

I guess I will just have to resolve myself to muddling through this week feeling like the going is slow.

Also, I had an awesome conversation with my husband on Saturday.  We went for a bike ride and then out to lunch.  It was a nice excursion, and opportunity for the two of us to spend some time together.  (Read, the teenagers were off being teenagers!)

Our table was near a large party – 4 or 5 mom’s and a whole slough of kids ranging in age from infant to maybe 6 or 7 at the most.   We wound up inadvertently eaves-dropping on their rather loud and boisterous conversations.  One mom shared a great anecdote about a virtual pet.  Apparently there is a Kinect game that uses your living-room for the virtual pet to interact with/in.  One particularly naughty pet decided to pee on the kid’s brother.

We couldn’t help but laugh and My husband and I agreed that if our kids had the game at that age they most likely would have been *trying* to get their virtual pets to behave that way.

In any case, we struck up our own conversation, tending towards some more adult content.  We were, however, mindful of the small children nearby.  We wound up making up euphemisms and analogies and much of what we talked about was in a sort of innocuous sounding code.  I found it quite amusing.  I have decided that I am going to incorporate that conversation into the book I am presently working on.

We will see if it makes the cut.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Slow going

  1. It’s the hardest thing about becoming a parent, watching what you say. Hoping that you don’t say something they might repeat in the most inopportune times.

    • I think that it is almost inevitable that as a parent you will wind up with at least one story of a child repeating something you said at the most embarrassing and inopportune moment. The redeeming thing about that is, eventually it will turn into a great anecdote! 🙂

Please leave a Reply! I like feedback.

