Not Exactly Writer’s Block – more like Brain Freeze

No, not the brain freeze you get when you drink your slush too quickly and it feels like someone is stabbing you in the head with an ice-pick.  Brain freeze as in everything just *stops*.  I know that there are words in there, idea’s and plot twists and character details, but as soon as I sit down and try to pour them out everything comes to a screeching halt and nothing comes out!

I am really good at getting in my own way.   At making up excuses.  At finding distractions.

There is something *really* good, and intimate and personal, bubbling just below the surface.  My conscious brain is resisting it.  No, not that.  We shouldn’t draw back that curtain.  No, really, you should keep that tucked away, hidden and safe.

So I am resorting to prompted writings and word sprints and whatever other exercises I can come up with to trick my brain into getting over it.  A literary sucking of the thumb to defeat the dreaded brain-freeze.  *rolling my eyes*  Stupid brain.

3 thoughts on “Not Exactly Writer’s Block – more like Brain Freeze

    • Yeah, there is that. I think it is fear when I am clearly avoiding writing altogether. If an idea just needs more time to percolate I can generally plant a place-holder and move on, or at least work on something else for a while.

      🙂 Thanks for the question … I like thinking about this stuff way too much. *laugh*

  1. Here is exactly the reason for me to blog … even when it is about stupid shit like brain-freeze.

    “There is something *really* good, and intimate and personal, bubbling just below the surface. My conscious brain is resisting it.”

    Writing that out – wrestling with it and figuring it out and putting it into those words right there … made me realize *exactly* what the stumbling block was – something intimate and personal that could lead to some really great stuff. I won’t share the exact nature of it here … but I think *finally* I can get it into the manuscript.

Please leave a Reply! I like feedback.

