Turn off the internet

“There’s a statistical theory that if you gave a million monkeys typewriters and set them to work, they’d eventually come up with the complete works of Shakespeare. Thanks to the Internet, we now know this isn’t true.” – Ian Hart

This morning I woke up feeling like I’d slept on glass and then gargled with razor-blades.  No … I am not sick and it isn’t a cricked back or a sore throat … if the feelings were physical I would have some idea how to address them.  I would know where they came from and know that they will eventually go away.

I suspect that I have simply been spending too much time with my head stuck into the potentially noxious fumes of the internet and I am feeling a bit soul sick.  So, today I am going to find something to act as spiritual vitamin C, stretch my mental wings and spend some extra time in the oxygen tent of my real world.

I guess it is time for a bit of R&R away from my silly keyboard, and this horrible addiction that I have been nurturing.  😉

“Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air…” –   Ralph Waldo Emerson quotes

3 thoughts on “Turn off the internet

    • “as though someone tore up a wheatfield and put in a swamp.” yes. just like that. 🙂

      It also has some great allure – but some days I really do need to just turn it off and walk away for a bit. 🙂

      • I find it easiest just to walk past my computer in the morning, go somewhere, meet people, have lunch out, then turn it on when I get home. That gives me a 4 hour window, internet-free.

Please leave a Reply! I like feedback.

